the digital divide


Close the Gap is governed by an independent Board of Directors and its primary function is to give advice and make recommendations to the Managing Director. Close the Gap’s Board of Recommendation consists of eminent people willing to vouch for and recommend Close the Gap within their networks. Close the Gap’s counsellors use their expertise and networks to support Close the Gap in further developing projects and partnerships. The duties and responsibilities vary greatly, depending on the counsellor’s speciality.

Wim Blonk

Prof. em. Dr. Wim A. G. Blonk, President

Since 2002, Prof. Blonk has been actively involved in the creation of Close the Gap. Since its creation, he has been Chairman of the Board of Directors at Close the Gap. He retired in 1999 from the EU Commission as Honorary Director General and in 2004 he retired as Professor at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel. Prof. Blonk is personally involved in projects for disabled children in Tanzania, Malawi and North India (Ladakh).

Christina von Wackerbarth

Christina von Wackerbarth – Chairperson of the Board of Directors effective January 2019

Christina von Wackerbarth has an international career on board and management level. Among other assignments, she was COO for international media company VNU’s activities in Central Europe and Director General and COO of the Public Broadcasting company VRT in Belgium. Ms. von Wackerbarth has experience as an independent Board member for various companies (such as Barco) in Belgium, Switzerland and the Netherlands. She is also active as an independent consultant and executive coach.

Bjorn Cumps-0267 (1)

Prof. Bjorn Cumps

Bjorn Cumps is a professor in Digital Banking at Vlerick Business School. At Vlerick, Prof. Cumps leads the Vlerick Centre for Financial Services, which focuses on sector specific research. Prof. Cumps is also responsible for the further development of Fintech research and education as well as the director of the Vlerick Masters Fintech Bootcamp.

2011 photo retravaillée

Mr. Olivier Vanden Eynde, Founder and Managing Director Close the Gap

Mr. Vanden Eynde founded Close the Gap in September 2003 at the Solvay Business School, as a mini-enterprise and spin-off of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel. Since the start, Mr. Vanden Eynde has been the Managing Director of Close the Gap. He is also the founder and Managing Director of WorldLoop, an organisation that focuses on sound e-waste solutions in developing countries.